TOAST’s Web “Thing”

Sunday, 2007-01-07

Heya, hiya, have some blog.

Filed under: (Uncategorized) — by Toast d'Béchamel @ 10:49 pm

– WordPress is driving me mad.  It’s so, so slow to edit.  Adding a link takes a full minute sometimes.  They’re shared service is being hit to all hell, and it’ll likely get worse.  The good news is that I hear that if you host it yourself, it’s quite fast, and hosting costs as little as $5 a month.  Gimme a couple of weeks.
– As you may know, more than 80% of the TV I watch is cooking shows.  For some reason, this week I’ve seen 5-6 recipes including “blood oranges”.  These come in season for as little as a month (Winter).  I’m gueassing the reason that they’re on TV so much right is that cable now gets cooking shows quite soon after their original US/UK broadcasts, and ABC is showing repeats.  Drives me mad as you can’t get them :).  Unless they’re being imported from the Northern Hemesphere (in which case they’ll likely be expensive and crap).
– I’ve started shopping at Ashfield Fruit World and they have all manner of great stuff.
 – Bags of all sorts of flours, dried beans, dried fruits etc.  They buy it in bulk and pack it into 1kg/500g vacuum sealed bags, and a looks like they’re hardly charging for this service!  Some things are cheaper than home-brand (is a good brand).  Flour – $1 per kilo, Dried beans – $3 a kilo (enough to feed a whole lot of people), salted peanuts, $4 a kilo, all manner of good stuff, even Wasabi peas.
 – Must be coriander season, small bunches for 70c (or a huge bundle for tree-fitty).  I’ve seen it for $3 a bunch at times.  Also, parsely for a buck, basil/thai basil for two bucks.
 – $6 for a 12 pack of tinned tomatoes.

– Still not entered a supermarket.  Not a problem at all.  Bought a gatorade from a convenience store, and paid for the privelege.
– This week, a big of a cassolet, even though it’s summer and that I couldn’t find any duck pieces and Vietnamese pork recipe
– I’ve started reading “The Man who Ate Everything” by Jeffrey Steingarten (sorry, no link, it’s too painful).  Brilliant stuff, I can hardly put it down.  Dr. Rodd generously lent it to me, claining “this guys is just like you”.  Totally agree.  He’s American, but writes as if he were British, is a Lawyer, but writes as if he has a science degree and goes to a level of research and detail rivalled only by Alton Brown.
– Also reading “Musashi”.  Have made it past the 50 pages now, and am now “into the story”.  Though not completely hooked yet, I am finding it quite interesting.  I know some really exciting and cool things are about to start happening, which is keeping me reading it.  So far, the main character has a WOODEN sword ?!, which he’s actually used to kill someone with.  One scene has him pissed off in a forest and in anger goes around slashing branches off trees.
– Iron Chef America is improving with each episode.  Hope y’all saw Ming Tsai in battle Duck.  Man, that was an amazing episode.  I claim that the winner totally PWNED the loser.
– My last week of being “broke”.  Very nice.
– I’ve been working with Eric Scheid from Ironclad (sorry, no link) on an Information Architecture project.  The man is a fricken GENIUS at IA.  He lives and breathes it.  I learn more in a couple of hours with him than I do in a month of programming.  If you’re in IA or a related field, you’re likely to come across him at some point.
– Is it just me, or does the whole of Australia seem to be on holidays for the last month ?  I’ve had more things like “broken websites”, “broken application forms”, “missed deliveries”, “lost orders”, “faxes not received”, “stuffed up orders” in the last month than I’ve had in the last year.

More from me after payday, when I’ve got some coin and can hopefully get this thing hosted somewhere usable

1 Comment »

  1. Sorry for the shocking spelling as well. As I said, this shared hosting takes far too long for that sort of thing. I’m on 8Mbps forcrissake.

    Comment by toastman — Sunday, 2007-01-07 @ 10:52 pm


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

